Posted in English

Object pronouns vs subject pronouns – me or I, she or her?

Exercise 1

Choose the correct subject pronouns or object pronouns to complete the following sentences.

You have completed this test.

Correct answers: 10/10.

Your score is 100%.

Check your answers:

1What time can I call himCorrect?

➪ We use object pronouns (me, you, him, her, it, us, themafter the verb (call) or after a preposition.

2HeCorrect never listens to usCorrect.

➪ We use subject pronouns (I, you, he, she, it, we, they) before the verb (listens).
➪ We use object pronouns (me, you, him, her, it, us, themafter the verb or after a preposition (to us).

3’Do you like my new glasses?’ ‘Yes, ICorrect love themCorrect.

➪ We use subject pronouns (I, you, he, she, it, we, they) before the verb (love).
➪ We use object pronouns (me, you, him, her, it, us, themafter the verb (love) or after a preposition.
➪ Glasses is plural. For things, we use it/it in singular and they/them in plural. Glasses= they/them

4Tom loves his rabbits. HeCorrect plays with themCorrect in the garden every day.

➪ We use subject pronouns (I, you, he, she, it, we, they) before the verb (plays).
➪ We use object pronouns (me, you, him, her, it, us, themafter the verb or after a preposition (with them).

5Please, call meCorrect soon; ICorrect am very worried.

➪ We use object pronouns (me, you, him, her, it, us, themafter the verb (call) or after a preposition.
➪ We use subject pronouns (I, you, he, she, it, we, they) before the verb (am).

6Look, Sara and Kevin. Can you see themCorrect?

➪ We use object pronouns (me, you, him, her, it, us, themafter the verb (see) or after a preposition.
➪ Sara and Kevin= they/them.

7Tell John that heCorrect can meet usCorrect at the canteen.

➪ We use subject pronouns (I, you, he, she, it, we, they) before the verb (can meet).
➪ We use object pronouns (me, you, him, her, it, us, themafter the verb (can meet) or after a preposition.
➪ John= he.

8I like your earrings. Can ICorrect see themCorrect?

➪ We use subject pronouns (I, you, he, she, it, we, they) before the verb (see).
➪ We use object pronouns (me, you, him, her, it, us, themafter the verb (see) or after a preposition.
➪ Earrings is plural. For things, we use it/it in singular and they/them in plural. Earrings= they/them

9Look at that man. Who is heCorrect?

➪ Subject pronoun: he. Object pronoun: him. We need a subject pronoun because in questions, the subject goes after the verb be. You can revise questions here.

10That man over there is David. I work with himCorrect.

➪ We use object pronouns (him) after prepositions (with).

Exercise 2

Replace the underlined words with the correct subject pronouns or object pronouns.

You have completed this test.

Correct answers: 10/10.

Your score is 100%.

Check your answers:

1I can’t find my keys. ⇒ I can’t find themCorrect.

➪ Keys  is plural. For things, we use it/it in singular and they/them in plural. Keysthey/them

2Rachel helps the students. ⇒ sheCorrect helps themCorrect.

➪ We use subject pronouns (she) before the verb (helps).
➪ We use object pronouns (them) after the verb (helps).

3I need to tell John the truth. ⇒ I need to tell himCorrect the truth.

➪ John= he/him.
➪ We use object pronouns (him) after the verb (tell).

4My dad and I love chocolate. ⇒ weCorrect love itCorrect.

➪ We use subject pronouns (we) before the verb (love).
➪ We use object pronouns (it) after the verb (love).
➪ Chocolate= itIt is the same form as a subject and object pronoun.

5Suzan and Tom call their daughter every day. ⇒ theyCorrect call herCorrect every day.

➪ Suzan and Tom= they/them.
➪ their daughter= she/her.
➪ We use subject pronouns (They) before the verb (call).
➪ We use object pronouns (her) after the verb (call).

6I like cooking for my children. ⇒ I like cooking for themCorrect.

➪ My children= they/them.
➪ We use object pronouns (them) after prepositions (for).

7Give the documents to Carmen. ⇒ Give themCorrect to herCorrect.

➪ We use object pronouns (them) after the verb (give).
➪ We use object pronouns (her) after prepositions (to).
➪ Documents  is plural. For things, we use it/it in singular and they/them in plural. Documentsthey/them

8Tom often plays football with my friends and me . ⇒ heCorrect often plays football with usCorrect.

➪ Tom= he/him.
➪ My friends and me= us.
➪ We use subject pronouns (He) before the verb (plays).
➪ We use object pronouns (us) after prepositions (with).

9How old is Emma? ⇒ How old is sheCorrect?

➪ Emma= she/her.
➪ We need a subject pronoun because in questions, the subject goes after the verb be. You can revise questions here.

10I need the scissors to cut the paper. ⇒ I need themCorrect to cut itCorrect.

➪ Scissors  is plural. For things, we use it/it in singular and they/them in plural. Scissorsthey/them
➪ Paper= itIt is the same form as a subject and object pronoun.
➪ We need object pronouns because object pronouns go after the verbs.

Exercise 3

Complete the sentences using the correct subject pronouns or object pronouns.

You have completed this test.

Correct answers: 10/10.

Your score is 100%.

Check your answers:

1I’m not dangerous. Don’t be afraid of meCorrect.

➪ We use object pronouns (me, you, him, her, it, us, themafter the verb or after a preposition (of).

2I don’t like this music; itCorrect is boring. Can you stop itCorrect?

➪ This music= It.
➪ The first it is a subject pronoun because it goes before the verb (is), and the second it is an object pronoun; it goes after the verb (stop).

3That’s my money. Can you give itCorrect to meCorrect? I need it.

➪ Money= it.
➪ Me is an object pronoun. We use object pronouns (me, you, him, her, it, us, them) after a preposition (to).

4Susan is in trouble and sheCorrect needs help. We have to help herCorrect.

➪ We use subject pronouns (she) before the verb (needs).
➪ We use object pronouns (herafter the verb (help).

5Jack is very special. I think I’m in love with himCorrect.

➪ Jack= he/him.
➪ We use object pronouns (him) after prepositions (with).

6We are going to the cinema. Do you want to come with usCorrect?

➪ We use object pronouns (us) after prepositions (with).

7I don’t want to eat this cheese. itCorrect smells horrible.

➪ Cheese= itIt is the same form as a subject and object pronoun.

8Don’t eat cookies. theyCorrect are very unhealthy.

➪ We use subject pronouns (They) before the verb (are).
➪ Cookies  is plural. For things, we use it/it in singular and they/them in plural. Cookiesthey/them.

9I can’t find Sally. Where is sheCorrect?

➪ Sara= she/her.
➪ We need a subject pronoun because in questions, the subject goes after the verb be. You can revise questions here.

10weCorrect need help. Can you help us?

➪ We use subject pronouns (We) before the verb (need).